Some Write It Hot

September 9, 2010

Meet Debbie Vaughan By Lillian Grant

Filed under: Who we are — dangerouslysexy @ 04:10
Tags:

Today I get the privilege of introducing you to the lovely Debbie Vaughan, writer of the most amazing urban fantasy. Until I met Debbie I had never read Urban Fantasy but I have read all three of her novels and now I am completely hooked. I can’t wait until she writes number four and gives it to me to critique.

So, I figured the best way to get to know her was to ask some questions and see what she reveals about herself.

LG What do you write?

DV I write Urban Fantasy which is a combination of mystery, romance and fantasy

LG How would you describe each of your characters?

DV The four main ones?
Connie is a young woman with a past. A child of abuse and neglect who has somehow managed to see passed it all and still find the good in others.
Tom, is perfection walking, only he walks at night. He is a vampire after all. A self-made man, he is wealthy, philanthropic and a great example to all little vampires everywhere who strive to make a “life” among humans. Of course everyone has secrets.
Raf, oh God! How do I keep this short? Raf looks like a young Tony Curtis, channeling Richard Simmons. He starts out sort of the comic relief but he is much more than that. He has his own past to overcome, from about 3 thousand years of it, but like Connie, he still believes in the good in everyone.
Last but not least is Willy, a paraplegic, standard, red dachshund. Many have asked how I know some much about paraplegic dachshunds. The answer is simple. Willy was real and passed January 6th of this year. He will live on forever in my heart and my books.

LG I love Willy.  Ok, so who is your writing inspiration?

DV Oh dear! I have a bunch of folks who could fall in that category. Laurell K. Hamilton because she is the grand high poobah of my genre. At about the time she was writing Guilty Pleasures I was sending my first manuscript to publishers. No one knew where to put it. It didn’t fit into any preconceived slot of the time. It had time travel, romance and mystery. Eventually I gave up. She never did. So because of her, now there is a place for me. The second would be Charlaine Harris. I read her Dead Until Dark and was so hooked I joined her board. For me that was a big deal. I’m not much of a joiner. She is very “hands on” with her followers. I had never met another author so giving of her time and encouragement. I met a lot of great people on her board. One led me here.

LG Do you think hanging with a bunch of erotic romance writers has changed your
writing style?

DV I’m not as shy! I have always had a lot of sex in my books. I like sex. I have
noticed a change between Midnight Sun, my first book and Haven my third. Whether
that’s a reflection on y’all or just advancement of my characters, I haven’t a
clue. What do you think?

LG I have to say each story gets hotter, not that I’m complaining. How long ago did you start writing?

DV I wrote several pieces when I was in highschool, eons ago. I had a great literature teacher who encouraged me to go for it. My senior theme was on witchcraft, complete with spells! Kudos Mr. Palmer. I wrote my first novel about 25 years ago, the one I never found a home for, Dare to Dream.

LG I know that you are as yet unpublished but only because you weren’t chasing it. When did you start taking writing more seriously and what or who inspired you to write with a view to publication?

DV I got serious about 2 years ago. The two writers I mentioned. Laurell had made a place for those like me and Charlaine, answered all my stupid questions and encouraged me to write, write, write so I did, did, did!

LG What is the silliest thing you have ever done?

DV I climbed aboard a horse standing in a pasture when I was six. How was I to know it wasn’t broke? He didn’t seem to mind…his owner was less enthusiastic.

LG I can only imagine. Thank goodness you survived! Do you plot your stories or go with the flow?

DV I am a pantser, meaning I fly by the seat of my pants! I usually have an idea when I start but it’s not always the one I end up with.

LG Do you have a muse? If you do, describe them.

DV Raf. From the moment his character walked onto the page he has been directing traffic. He is the best thing that ever happened to me.

LG What is the best thing about being a member of ERA?

DV You ask hard questions! I love this group. One thing? The support.

LG Where is your favourite place in all the world?

DV I’ve never been anywhere but I have always wanted to go to Ireland. It just seems like a magical place to me.

LG What do you like to do when you’re not writing?

DV I love to read, it takes me out of myself. I like to spend time with my animals. Nine dogs, two horses. I love to go junking.

LG Favourite food?

DV Dark chocolate

LG Favourite book?

DV Far too many. Goodness. Black Gold, l think I read that book about 30 times when I was in school. I can still quote the epilogue and it still makes me cry.

LG What is the best thing about writing?

DV The world belongs to me.

LG The worst thing about writing?

DV Trying to get published

LG I hear your pain. If you won the lottery what is the first thing you would do?

DV Pack up all my animals and move to a thatched cottage in some rural area of Ireland and write, write, write.

Find out more about Debbbie’s fantasies at Get Bit!

3 Comments »

  1. Thanks Lillian for for agreeing to be my interviewer. It was a lot of fun.

    Comment by Debbie Vaughan — September 9, 2010 @ 11:33 | Reply

  2. GREAT interview!

    Comment by Josephine Russell — September 10, 2010 @ 12:07 | Reply

  3. Hang in there, Debbie.
    The right publisher for your work isn’t far off!

    Comment by DA Kentner — September 21, 2010 @ 21:24 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

