Some Write It Hot

September 21, 2010

Welcome To The Revolution by Evanne Lorraine

The revolution of Ebooks is the one on my mind.

A couple of different posts caught my interest lately. One from Josh Lanyon How to pick a publisher. The other from JA Konrath’s Newbie’s Guide to Publishing On Beyond EBooks.

These topics may look unrelated, but they dovetailed for me. Mr. Lanyon talks about why he works with a publisher, Mr. Konrath talks about why he doesn’t.

I don’t pretend to be in their sales rankings, or income brackets. Though I’d like to be, so I follow these very different success stories.

Both sides of the unofficial debate appeal to me. I’ve learned more from editors about writing than from any class, craft book, or workshop. I’m painfully aware I do not turn out flawless prose. An editor’s, and a copy editor’s, applied skills make me look good and they make my stories look even better.

On the other hand, not every story that pops into my head fits neatly into established publisher guidelines. Where are all the WWII erotic romances? People still watch Gone With The Wind, there have to be at least one or two who would enjoy a shifter story set in the early 1940′s.

Thus, A Scarlet Past began to unfold in my head before I’d finished A Taste of Scarlet .

A Taste of Scarlet is scheduled for release in January from Loose Id with the cooperation and amazing effort of a professional editorial team. (Sorry, you’ll have to wait for a peek at the cover).

A Scarlet Past, is scheduled for release this November direct to Kindle via Amazon’s digital platform. Luckily, I have help. The release will include excepts from Amber Green and an original short story from DA Kentner.

Frankly, I don’t expect to make a lot of money from the story. If it pays for the cover art — thank you Stella Price I’ll be thrilled. Working with Amber and DA will be a blast and I’m bound to learn something–always a pleasure.

How do you feel about the e-publishing revolution? Are you still clinging to dead tree books or are you embracing digital titles?

