Some Write It Hot

September 29, 2010

Nothing New Under The┬áSun By Debbie Vaughan

Filed under: Writing life — dangerouslysexy @ 04:00
Tags: , , ,

t’s true you know? As my website, Get Bit! indicates, I write about vampires. Not just vampires of course, but all the other creatures we associate with them. I write urban fantasy. Am I the first? Heaven’s no! Many, many have gone before and will come after.

People often tell me, “but, all that’s been done.” or “insert famous author’s name here”, writes about those.” To which I reply, “Yes, but mine are different.” There really isn’t anything new under the sun. The trick is to put a new slant on what everyone knows. Will there be similarities between my writing and other authors? Certainly, it’s inevitable. There should be! If you want to read about vampires you expect there to BE vampires, right?

The trick is to present my characters differently than all the rest. I think I have done that. I read a lot, in every genre, but admittedly mostly my own. I am well aware of what is out there. I know agents and editors keep up too. That’s their job. Hopefully when Midnight Sun comes across their desk, they won’t just groan, “Oh no, not another vampire novel!”, but will take the time to read at least part of it. Because then, I’m very sure, you all will get to read it. You want to read about a rich, handsome cowboy turned vampire who owns a tanning salon, about his hilarious gay sidekick, the girl they both grow to love and her dachshund, don’t you?

I think I have built a better mousetrap. Here mousy, mousy. . .

